The Riding

South of Pincher Creek, AB

The Foothills federal electoral district is located in rural, southwest Alberta, and stretches from the BC border in the west, roughly along the Trans-Canada Highway to the Calgary city limits where it slides down, around the southern and eastern boundaries of the City to just east of Highway 2 along the boundaries of the M.D.s of Foothills and Willow Creek to the United States Border in the south.

Some of the communities featured in Foothills include Bragg Creek, Heritage Pointe, Okotoks, High River, Turner Valley, Black Diamond, Nanton, Claresholm, Fort Macleod, Pincher Creek, Crowsnest Pass, Waterton Lakes National Park as well as Tsuu T’ina, Eden Valley and Piikani First Nations.

The riding of Foothills was created by the 2012 federal electoral boundaries redistribution and came into effect with the call of the 42nd Canadian Federal Election in 2015. It emerges out of the tradition of the Macleod Electoral District which was initially established in the year 1907, was temporarily abolished in 1966 and re-established again in 1986. Prior to John Barlow being elected as Member of Parliament in June 2014, Ted Menzies served as the Member of Parliament from 2004 to November 2013 and he was preceeded by Dr. Grant Hill.

To view a map of Foothills, click on the following: Map of Foothils – Elections Canada.


According to the 2011 census, Foothill’s estimated population is 105,515, with 83,675 registered voters. First Nations account for an estimated six per cent of residents, while approximately ten per cent are immigrants from over 36 different countries. The area averages out to 20,877 square kilometres, with the population density being 5.1 persons per square kilometre.
In Macleod, agriculture is the primary industry.

Provincial Representation:



Chestermere-Rocky View


Little Bow



Cardston County

Municipal District of Crowsnest Pass

Municipal District of Foothills

Municipal District of Pincher Creek

Muncipal District of Ranchland

Municipal District of Rockyview County

Municipal District of Willow Creek

First Nations Reserves:

Eden Valley 216

Piikani Nation 147

Tsuu T’ina Nation 145

Towns and Villages:

Town of Black Diamond

Village of Cowley

Town of Claresholm

Town of Fort MacLeod

Town of Granum

Town of High River

Village of Lomond

Village of Longview

Town of Nanton

Town of Okotoks

Town of Pincher Creek

Town of Stavely

Town of Turner Valley